Nell Corkin - Miniature Miniatures

About the Artist

A self taught artist, Nell Corkin began making miniatures at the age of five.  After receiving her B.A. in art history from the University of Delaware, she worked in the fashion industry and as a fine arts appraiser before becoming a special effects model maker.  During ten her years in the motion picture industry, she worked with many prominent directors, including John Dykstra, Steven Spielberg, Douglas Trumbull, Richard Taylor, and Ridley Scott.
Nell left special effects in 1993 to devote herself entirely to creating miniatures as an art form. Her work is represented in numerous museums in the United States and Europe, and in many private collections.  She was awarded the title of Fellow by the International Guild of Miniature Artisans in 1998, and served as its President 20214-2014.
Selected Special Effects Credits
Back to the Future II    Space Camp
Gremlins II      Amazing Stories
Ghostbusters II      Coming to America
Spaceballs      My Stepmother is an Alien
Ghost Dad     Shakedown
Earthquake - The Ride, Universal Studios
Back to the Future - The Ride, Universal Studios
Selected Exhibitions
Philadelphia Miniaturia
International Guild of Miniature Artisans,
Annual Show and Sale 
London Dollshouse Festival,
Kensington (England)
Chicago International Miniature Show
God Sam Showcase of Miniatures,
San Jose, CA
New York International Miniature Show
National Association of Miniature Enthusiasts,
Annual Show and Sale
Selected Collections
The Toy and Miniature Museum of Kansas City,
permanent collection
Kathleen Savage Browning Miniatures Collection,
permanent collection
Museo Mundial de Miniaturas del Professor Max,
Brihuega, Spain
Architectural Digest   
International Dollshouse News (England)
New York Newsday   
Dolls House World (England)
Kansas City Star    
Miniatyr Varlden (Sweden)
Miniature Collector   
Minaituras Munecas (Spain)
Dollhouse Miniatures   
Nick Forder, Masterpieces in Miniature   
International Guild of Miniature Artisans;
awarded  Fellow status 1998; President 2013-2014

National Association of Miniature Enthusiasts